Full View
In the News

Nor-Cal EMS Important News Highlights

Bringing you important news highlights in your Northstate.

EMS Awards

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2012 California EMS Awards

Please share this information widely.

Brave. Dedicated. Willing. Reliable. These words describe 78,000 licensed or certified EMS providers in California. They demonstrate these qualities every day by coming to the aid of others when they are most in need and striving to ensure that the EMS system works well. But each year, due to circumstance or extraordinary effort, certain individuals among us shine. The EMS Authority seeks to recognize those individuals through California Emergency Medical Services Awards Program.

Nominations are now being accepted for praiseworthy acts or accomplishments that occurred between October 1, 2011 and September 7, 2012. The awards program honors special accomplishments, meritorious and heroic acts, innovations or fresh ideas to improve EMS in the state, or other unique and/or significant contributions by EMS personnel, physicians, nurses, EMTs, other medical providers, local officials, members of the law enforcement community, citizens, and first responders.

The nomination deadline for this year is September 7th.
EMS providers, supervisors, and managers are encouraged to nominate any deserving individual for recognition. For additional information regarding award categories and to download nomination forms, please visit EMSA Awards or call Robin Robinson at 916-322-4336, ext. 447. The luncheon ceremony will be held December 5, 2012 at Marines Memorial Hotel in San Francisco and will be conducted at no cost to the state.

Medal of Valor
Recognizes an EMT for acts of personal valor or heroism in the delivery of emergency medical care, which results in the saving of a life under extreme conditions and/or in extraordinary circumstances.

EMS Cross
Recognizes a uniformed EMT who by act and deed represents the most outstanding achievement or accomplishment in EMS over an extended period of time. This is the highest award that can be conferred in the absence of extreme conditions and extraordinary circumstances.

Distinguished Service Medal
Recognizes an individual for distinguished service or achievement affecting statewide EMS over an extended period of time. A maximum of ten Distinguished Service Medals will be awarded in any one year.

Meritorious Service Medal
Recognizes an individual for a meritorious act or service within EMS. This award also recognizes an EMT for an act that is above and beyond the call of duty in the course of a particular EMS emergency or event.

Lifesaving Medal
Recognizes an EMS provider who, while in an off-duty or volunteer capacity, makes an extremely noteworthy contribution to efforts which result in the saving of a life.

Community Service Award
Recognizes an EMT who has made an outstanding commitment to non-patient care aspects of a community's EMS system. Special emphasis is on EMS Public Information, Education, and Relations. A maximum of ten Community Service Awards will be conferred in any one year.

Inter-service EMS Recognition Medal
Recognizes outstanding heroism, extraordinary service, or achievement of non-EMTs (police officers, firefighters, lifeguards, dispatchers, and other public or private safety officers) for outstanding or exceptional support of a particular EMS emergency, event or operation.

Civilian Award for EMS
Recognizes a civilian (non-certified, non-health care provider) who provides extraordinary service during the course of an EMS emergency. Awards are relatively based upon the degree of patient outcome, extreme conditions, or extraordinary circumstances.

EMT of the Year Award (3)
Honors an EMT-I, AEMT and EMT-Paramedic, each of whom is exemplary in his/her quality of patient care and/or dedication to their community. Any statewide certified EMT-I or EMT-II, and any licensed EMT-Paramedic is eligible. Nominations may be made by anyone. Describe the nominee's qualities and contributions to the local EMS service or system. Letters of support from fellow EMTs, local EMS directors, and local officials will be weighed heavily.

EMS Educator of the Year Award
Honors an EMS educator who excels as a teacher or who has made a significant contribution to the EMS education program in the State.

EMS Medical Director of the Year Award
Honors a physician who serves or has served the EMS system by providing medical direction, on-line or off-line, and who has made a special contribution through systems development, continuing education, quality assurance, medical community liaison, etc.

EMS Administrator of the Year Award
Honors an EMS system administrator who has distinguished him or herself through noteworthy contribution to a local, regional, or to the statewide EMS system.

The Emergency Medical Services Authority ensures quality patient care by administering an effective, statewide system of coordinated emergency medical care, injury prevention, and disaster medical response.

Back to News

News Archive