Full View
In the News

Nor-Cal EMS Important News Highlights

Bringing you important news highlights in your Northstate.

EMS Awards

2013 California EMS Awards

Please share this information widely.

Brave. Dedicated. Willing. Reliable. These words describe the 78,000 licensed or certified EMS providers in California. They demonstrate these qualities every day by coming to the aid of others when they are most in need and working to ensure that the EMS system operates well. However, each year, due to circumstance or extraordinary effort, certain individuals among us shine. The EMS Authority seeks to recognize those individuals through the California Emergency Medical Services Awards Program.

Nominations are now being accepted for praiseworthy acts or accomplishments that occurred between October 1, 2012 and September 6, 2013. The awards program honors special accomplishments, meritorious and heroic acts, innovations or fresh ideas to improve EMS in the state, or other unique and/or significant contributions by EMS personnel, physicians, nurses, EMTs, other medical providers, local officials, members of the law enforcement community, citizens, and first responders. Award categories include Medal of Valor, EMS Cross, Distinguished Service Medal, Meritorious Service Medal, Lifesaving Medal, Community Service Award, Inter-service EMS Recognition Medal, Civilian Award for EMS, EMT of the Year Award, EMS Educator of the Year Award, EMS Medical Director of the Year Award and EMS Administrator of the Year Award. Clinical Excellence Awards will be presented at the recipients’ home stations.

The nomination deadline for this year is September 6th. EMS providers, supervisors, and managers are encouraged to nominate any deserving individual for recognition. The luncheon ceremony will be held on December 4, 2013 at the Marines Memorial Hotel in San Francisco beginning at 12:30 PM and will be conducted at no cost to the State of California. Tickets will be available for purchase in September. Space is limited and registration ends November 22nd.

Deadline to Register is November 22, 2013.

EMS Awards Luncheon Tickets are free for award recipients (awards recipients’ registration is covered by our event sponsors). Registration will open in September.

Various levels of personnel comprise the EMS system and an array of categories was created to include them all.  The award categories are:

Individual Awards
Statewide EMS System Awards
Individual Achievement Recognition

In addition to the specific categories mentioned above, the EMS Authority may also present certificates of recognition, appreciation, or other awards as dictated by particular circumstances.

Nomination & Notification Forms

Individual Award Nomination
Statewide EMS System Award Nomination
Individual Achievement Recognition Notification of Eligibility


Back to News

News Archive